The Cliburn enters final round

Just six pianists remain as the Fifteenth Van International Piano Competition heads into its final found. The competitors have come through three gruelling recitals so far, spending two and a half hours on stage.

The finalists are: Kenneth Broberg (US), Rachel Cheung (Hong Kong), Yury Favorin (Russia), Daniel Hsu (US), Yekwon Sunwoo (South Korea) and Georgy Tchaidze (Russia).

In the final round each pianist first performed as part of a quintet on 7 and 8 June. Hsu’s performance in particular caught the eye, with Dallas News critic Scott Cantrell stating that he “blew every other chamber music performance out of the water.”

The final concerto round takes place today and tomorrow, with the winner announced tomorrow between 7-8pm CT. The final concerts will be broadcast on, with the winner receiving USD50,000 (€45,000) and the Gold Medal.