Scottish Awards for New Music winners announced

Colin Currie, Peter Maxwell-Davies and James MacMillan are among the 2018 Scottish Awards for New Music winners. The prizes were handed out in a ceremony on 7 March at the Drygate Brewery in Glasgow.

MacMillan picked up the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (RCS) Award for Contribution to New Music in Scotland; Peter Maxwell-Davies, who passed away in 2016, won the EVM Award for Recorded New Work for his piece The Last Island, performed by Hebrides Ensemble; while The Cumnock Tryst won the RCS Award for Community/Education thanks to its project Kaleidoscope, which was a partnership with Drake Music Scotland, Matilda Brown, Colin Currie and the Scottish Ensemble

Chair of New Music Scotland Oliver Searle said: “This has been a wonderful opportunity to further raise the profile of new music in Scotland, drawing together creators, performers and promoters working around the country, once again including the fantastic support of a range of sponsors, and culminating in an evening to celebrate the wealth of talent, skills and abilities on show in the new music sector in Scotland.”

Other winners were Mr McFall’s Chamber (Help Musicians Scotland Award for New Music Performers of the Year), Shiori Usui (Large Scale New Work), Matthew Grouse (Dorico Award for Small Scale New Work), Pippa Murphy and Karine Polwart (Ginkhana Award for Innovation in New Folk Music), Michael Begg (Holiday Inn Award for Electroacoustic/Sound Art) Martin Kershaw (Ginkhana Award for Innovation in New Jazz Music), and Sonica (Thomson’s Coffee Roasters Award for Creative Programming).

The event also featured live performances from Red Note Ensemble and Scottish Opera principal trumpet Jason Lewis.