RPS Music Award winners announced

Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) has announced the winners of its 2016 Music Awards. The prizes recognise, ‘youth, invention, musical brilliance – and an outbreak of classical music in a multi-story car park,’ and were presented in a ceremony at the Brewery in London on 10 May.

Winners include Multi-Story Orchestra, for a 2015 concert season staged in the Bold Tendencies car park in Peckham, London; Finnish conductor Sakari Oramo, for his work as chief conductor of BBC Symphony Orchestra; baritone Roderick Williams for his performances on a wide range of songs; Julian Anderson for her chamber music composition Van Gogh Blue; and Glyndebourne for Barry Kosky’s staging of Handel’s Saul.

‘At the heart of all great music is the idea of looking outwards, of trying to make sense of the world around us, and articulating our thoughts and lives,’ said RPS chair John Gilhooly. ‘RPS wants to salute the amazing array of talent on offer in the UK – distinguished musicians, distinctive international musical voices, composers, conductors, instrumentalists and people of all ages, and from all walks of life who participate in music-making.’

Also recognised was Birmingham Opera director Graham Vick, who received an Honorary Membership of the Royal Philharmonic Society. Vick, who was guest speaker at the ceremony, said: ‘Through music we can harness and share the richness of cultural background and identity, the breadth of life experience and alternative perspectives available in our expanding communities and enrich all our understanding.’ He joins an illustrious list of Honorary Members that includes Brahms, Stravinsky, Aaron Copland and Marin Alsop.

A full list of award recipients can be found on the RPS website. RPS Music Awards will be broadcast by BBC Radio 3 on 11 May at 19:30.