Paul Hamlyn Foundation Award recipients announced

Paul Hamlyn Foundation (PHF) has announced the 2015 winners of its Awards for Artists. The GBP50,000 (€71,200) prize is spread over three years and is given to UK artists and composers – with no strings attached as to how it is spent.

This year five visual artists and three composers have received the award. The three composers are Adem Ilhan, Peter Wareham and Brian Irvine. Visual artists Patrick Staff, Emma Hart, Will Holder, Tina Keane and the duo of Karen Mirza and Brad Butler were also honoured.

Ilhan, a singer-songwriter of Turkish descent, is known for his film and theatre scores, with his work used in venues like Barbican and Tate Britain. He plays bass guitar in indie band Fridge and recently released a solo LP on revered record label Rough Trade.

Saxophonist Peter Wareham has worked with groups like Acoustic Ladyland, Melt Yourself Down and Polar Bear. He currently lectures at BIMM in London and said the award would allow him to, ‘dedicate more energy into writing and researching, developing new material and projects.’

Belfast music laureate Brian Irvine has worked in many different genres, and is regularly commissioned to write operatic and classical pieces for international orchestras. He has collaborated with poet Seamus Heaney, Japanese guitarist Keiji Haino and folk group LAU.

The recipients are selected by a group of peers, with a panel of five judges making the final decision. PHF’s stated mission is that the awards, ‘are made at a timely moment in an artist’s career, without being age specific or having any strings attached in terms of how the money can be used.’

Past beneficiaries include Janek Schaefer, Tansy Davies, Edmund Finnis and Shabaka Hutchings.