Opera Awards finalists announced

The finalists of this year’s International Opera Awards were announced today.

Among the nominees are maestros Carlo Rizzi and Gianandrea Noseda for the Conductor award, while English National Opera and The Metropolitan Opera will compete for the Chorus gong.

Nominated for the Female Singer prize are Joyce DiDonato, Anja Harteros, Liudmyla Monastryska, Anna Netrebko, Anita Rachvelishvili, and Sonya Yoncheva.

The events competing for the Festival award are Bregenz, Cincinnati Opera, Garsington, Glimmerglass, Operadagen Rotterdam, and Rossini Opera Festival.

Meanwhile those up for Male Singer are Lawrence Brownlee, Iestyn Davies, Christian Gerhaher, John Osborn, Michael Spyres, Ludovic Tézier.

The nominations were selected by a jury chaired by John Allison, editor of Opera magazine and classical music critic with The Daily Telegraph.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday 26 April at The Savoy Theatre in London.