Joint winners at Concours de Genève

Concours de Genève (Geneva International Music Competition) has announced joint first prize winners in its composition strand: Hinako Takagi and Daniel Arango-Prada.

Takagi, from Japan, and Columbian Arango-Prada heard their respective pieces L’Instant and Dune receive their world premiere in the competition final on 8 November. Lemanic Modern Ensemble, under Pierre Bleuse, performed the works, with featured soloists Matthias Arter, Philippe Grauvogel and Ernest Rombout.

Arango-Prada also won the audience prize and the young audience prize. Takagi, meanwhile, picked up the students’ prize. The third place prize went to Korean Hyeon Joon Sohn.

Performances from the competition are available online via its website. Both works, which were for oboe and ensemble, will feature in Concours de Genève’s next oboe competition.

The jury for this year’s edition included Kaija Saariaho (chair of the jury, Finland), Julian Anderson (UK), Toshio Hosokawa (Japan), Michael Jarrell (Switzerland) and Liza Lim (Australia).

Concours de Genève’s percussion competition concludes on 21 November.