Four share Kranichstein Music Prize

Four winners have been announced for this year’s Kranichstein Music Prize. Founded in 1952 as a subsidiary of the Darmstadt Summer Course, it rewards the work of musicians, ensembles and composers – split across interpretation and composition strands.

For 2018, the interpretation prize goes to Italian electric guitar player Carlo Siega. As for the composition award, this was split between Sara Glojnarić (Croatia), Martin Hirsti-Kvam (Norway) and Oliver Thurley (UK).

Siega receives €3,000, while Glojnarić, Hirsti-Kvam and Thurley split €3,000 between them. This year’s jury was made up of composer Joanna Bailie, journalistist Theresa Beyer and oboist Peter Veale.

Full details of the 2018 competition, including the judging criteria, can be found through the Darmstadt Summer Course website.