Concours de Genève winners announced

The Geneva International Music Competition (Concours de Genève) has ended with joint winners in the piano strand. Théo Fouchenneret (France) and Dmitry Shishkin (Russia) shared first prize, while Kevin Spagnolo (Italy) triumphed in the clarinet section.

In addition to his first place finish, Shishkin also won the Audience Prize, Young Audience Prize and the Students Prize. Thailand’s San Jittakarn finished third, in a competition that was chaired by Spanish pianist Joaquín Achúcarro.

Piano finalists
Piano finalists

For clarinet, Spagnolo finished ahead of Vitor Fernandes (Portugal) in second and Carlos Ferreira (Portugal) in third. Ferreira took home both the Audience Prize and Young Audience Prize, with the jury chaired by Sharon Kam.

The finalists in the clarinet strand performed alongside the Geneva Chamber Orchestra with Pierre Bleuse conducting, while the pianists were accompanied by Orchestre de la Suisse Romande under the baton of Peter Oundjian.

The next edition of Concours de Genève in 2019 will focus on percussion and composition.