Concours de Genève candidates announced

The 74th Geneva International Music Competition (Concours de Genève) has announced 37 candidates chosen by its preselection jury. A total of 135 percussionists and composers applied for the 2019 competition.

Musicians aged between 19 to 32-years-old will perform at Centre des Arts from 8-21 November, with the final round taking place at Victoria Hall with Orchestre de la Suisse Romande conducted by Julien Leroy.

The first prize winner will receive CHF20,000 (€17,990); second prize winner CHF12,000 (€10,800); while the third prize winner will take home CHF8,000 (€7,200). Concours de Genève also provides a bespoke career development programme to boost laureates’ careers. The programme includes two years of concert management, as well as CD recordings and international tours.

The official jury for the competition comprises Philippe Spiesser (president), Daniel Druckman, Fritz Hauser, Aiyun Huang, Marta Klimasara, Isao Nakamura and Hèctor Parra..

Candidates can chose to perform their programme in any order, although each round consists of compulsory work by composers Pierre Jodlowski, Michael Jarrell, Peter Eötvös.