Anne-Sophie Mutter wins Polar Music Prize

Anne-Sophie Mutter has won the 2019 Polar Music Prize. Set up by ABBA manager Stig Anderson in 1989, it honours those who have made a major contribution to music globally.

Mutter is actually sharing the award with two other laureates: DJ Oseph Saddler (better known as Grandmaster Flash) and the Playing For Change Foundation. Each will receive SEK1m (€95,500), with Renée Fleming, Ravi Shankar, Paul McCartney, Youssou N’dour, Patti Smith and Bob Dylan among the former winners.

“We are delighted to honour three laureates this year, only the second time we’ve done so in our 28-year history,” said managing director Marie Ledin. “In Grandmaster Flash, Anne-Sophie Mutter and Playing For Change Foundation, we have three spectacular Laureates.”

Added Mutter: “It is a huge honour to be in this illustrious group of musicians who have received the Polar Music Prize. I’m deeply honoured and humbled and I can’t wait to come to Stockholm and meet the other recipients.”

King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden will present the awards in a ceremony at the Grand Hôtel in Stockolm on 11 June. The event will be broadcast live on Swedish national television.