Mongolia takes Tchaikovsky 2015 Grand Prix

The prestigious International Tchaikovsky Competition, held every four years and renowned as one of the major events in the international music community, has announced its prizewinners for 2015.

The overall Grand Prix champion of this 15th edition was named as 27-year-old Ganbaatar Ariunbaatar of Mongolia, a baritone contestant in the voice category – his overall win means he takes home a further cash award of USD100,000 (€90,240) on top of the USD30,000 prize for winning gold in his own category.

See a performance of Figaro’s Aria by Ariunbaatar below:


The Moscow and St Petersburg-based International Tchaikovsky Competition awards six prizes each for pianists, violinists, and cellists, and four prizes each for male and female singers.

Other notable winners this year were Russia’s own Dmitry Masleev in the piano category, who also scooped a special prize for best concerto performance with chamber orchestra; Andrei Ionuț Ioniță of Romania in the cello class; and French pianist Lucas Debargue who earned a special award from the Moscow Music Critics’ Association.

See the International Tchaikovsky Competition website for a full list of contestants, including all prizewinners, placements and short biographies.